Vienna – cake shops

A typical selection of cakes in a coffee/cake shop

Vienna is a lovely city full of coffee houses or cake shops. Literally in every corner there seems to be at least one if not two of them. The cake selection is to die for. There are so many to choose from. Best of all, they are delicious. All the ones I’ve tried in the different shops were simply yummy. There was another bonus, my Vienna city guide and friend was a tall, friendly Austrian who was on a ‘no cake’ diet so whenever we went in to one of these shops for our cakes, I inevitably ended up eating his cake as well because he was on a diet and couldn’t take more than a bite of his portion. Sometimes he didn’t even touch the thing and told me to go ahead and gobble up his slice of cake as well :). I was happy to oblige.

The famous Viennese apple strudel

Apple strudel is a well know Viennese pastry hence this was naturally one of the first thing I tried. It didn’t disappoint. The pastry was fluffy, the apple mix was perfect and not too sweet. Bung in a generous dollop of freshly whipped cream to top it off and happiness complete. The portion was a hearty size too. Very filling and satisfying. Highly recommended if you’re feeling a bit peckish after a long, tiring walk like I was and needed something to re-fuel the system.

The reason the cakes are so delicious is because they are all freshly made everyday. This means any leftover at the end of the day is thrown away. I can’t imagine what a waste this is. Such a pity. Wish they would come up with some solution and not be so wasteful (if only they’d invite me to come help them throw the cakes away at the end of the day. I’d be happy to bring my own bin bags for the cakes 🙂

A typical selection in a Vienna coffee/cake shop – full of temptation
Simply irresistible

The variety of cakes are phenomenal. And it’s the same in every shop I went to. Even the smaller one which doesn’t look much.

An elaborate tea set for my last cup of tea and cake in Vienna, Schonbrunn Palace

I had my last piece of cake and tea at the Schronbrunn Palace cafeteria in Vienna. It was a beautiful day and the tea set was elaborate. Unfortunately, the tea didn’t match the setting. Vienna is a city for coffee drinkers so be warned. The shops all have tea on the menu and you get a beautiful tea set with full accessories to accompany the tea, unfortunately, the tea itself is no good. It is so weak as to be practically tasteless. The only just about acceptable tea I had was the first one with the apple strudel. After this the tea just seems to get worse and worse. I ordered Earl Grey Blue tea at the Schronbrunn Palace. I’ve not heard of Earl Grey Blue tea before but I’ve had Earl Grey tea. I remember it as a strong, robust tea, so I though I try this fancy Earl Grey Blue thinking it’d not be far off, or even better. I was wrong as this one was very far off because I might as well be drinking milk water despite me practically left the tea to stew in the cup I still couldn’t get anything from it.

This was the last piece of cake I had in Vienna. It was a sweet chestnut cake. Delicious but small. I could easily eat the whole cake instead of just a small slice. In fact, I’d be very happy to sit in those cake shops all day eating all the cakes they have. The only thing stopping me was the cost. It’s expensive. A slice of cake was, at minimum, around €4+. Add in the price for a cup of tea or coffee. Then the obligatory service charge of 15% and it all mounts up.

Here’s are some videos of my walking tour in Vienna. Watch and enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Vienna – cake shops”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started